Delete Content

This step plugin allows an automatic selective deletion of content from a process.

Introduction

The plugin is used to automatically delete data from a process. For this purpose, a configuration file can be used to define very granularly which data exactly should be deleted.

Overview

Details

Identifier

intranda_step_deleteContent

Source code

https://github.com/intranda/goobi-plugin-step-deleteContent

Licence

GPL 2.0 or newer

Compatibility

Goobi workflow 2020.09

Documentation date

03.10.2020

Installation

To install the plugin, the following file must be installed:

/opt/digiverso/goobi/plugins/step/plugin_intranda_step_deleteContent.jar

To configure how the plugin should behave, various values can be adjusted in the configuration file. The configuration file is usually located here:

/opt/digiverso/goobi/config/plugin_intranda_step_deleteContent.xml

Configuration of the plugin

The configuration of the plugin is structured as follows:

<config_plugin>
<config>
<project>*</project>
<step>*</step>
<!-- delete all data within the images/ folder -->
<deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory>false</deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory>
<!-- OR delete a single image folder - this is only used if deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory is set to false -->
<deleteMediaDirectory>false</deleteMediaDirectory>
<deleteMasterDirectory>false</deleteMasterDirectory>
<deleteSourceDirectory>false</deleteSourceDirectory>
<deleteFallbackDirectory>false</deleteFallbackDirectory>
<!-- delete all data within the thumbs/ folder -->
<deleteAllContentFromThumbsDirectory>false</deleteAllContentFromThumbsDirectory>
<!-- delete all data within the ocr/ folder -->
<deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory>false</deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory>
<!-- OR delete a single ocr folder - this is only used if deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory is set to false -->
<deleteAltoDirectory>false</deleteAltoDirectory>
<deletePdfDirectory>false</deletePdfDirectory>
<deleteTxtDirectory>false</deleteTxtDirectory>
<deleteWcDirectory>false</deleteWcDirectory>
<deleteXmlDirectory>false</deleteXmlDirectory>
<!-- delete export folder -->
<deleteExportDirectory>false</deleteExportDirectory>
<!-- delete import folder -->
<deleteImportDirectory>false</deleteImportDirectory>
<!-- delete processlog folder -->
<deleteProcesslogDirectory>false</deleteProcesslogDirectory>
<!-- delete metadata -->
<deleteMetadataFiles>false</deleteMetadataFiles>
<!-- deactivate all unfinished tasks -->
<deactivateProcess>false</deactivateProcess>
</config>
</config_plugin>

The block <config> can occur repeatedly for different projects or workflow steps in order to be able to carry out different actions within different workflows. The other parameters within this configuration file have the following meanings:

Value

Description

project

This parameter determines the project for which the current block <config> is to apply. The name of the project is used here. This parameter can occur several times per <config> block.

step

This parameter controls for which workflow steps the block <config> is to apply. The name of the step is used here. This parameter can occur several times per <config> block.

deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory

Specify whether to delete all data from the images folder.

deleteMediaDirectory

Specify whether to delete the media folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory is enabled.

deleteMasterDirectory

Specify whether to delete the master folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory is enabled.

deleteSourceDirectory

Specify whether to delete the source folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory is enabled.

deleteFallbackDirectory

Specify whether to delete the configured fallback folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromImageDirectory is enabled.

deleteAllContentFromThumbsDirectory

Specify whether to delete all data from the thumbs folder.

deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory

Specify whether to delete all data from the ocr folder.

deleteAltoDirectory

Specify whether to delete the alto folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory is enabled.

deletePdfDirectory

Specify here whether the pdf folder is to be deleted. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory is enabled.

deleteTxtDirectory

Specify whether to delete the txt folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory is enabled.

deleteWcDirectory

Specify whether to delete the wc folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory is enabled.

deleteXmlDirectory

Specify whether to delete the xml folder. This option is not evaluated if deleteAllContentFromOcrDirectory is enabled.

deleteExportDirectory

Specify whether to delete the export folder.

deleteImportDirectory

Specify whether to delete the import folder.

deleteProcesslogDirectory

Specify whether to delete the folder where the files uploaded in the operation log are managed.

deleteMetadataFiles

Specify here whether the metadata and associated backups should be deleted.

deactivateProcess

When this option is enabled, all steps of the process are disabled if they have not been completed previously.

Integration of the plugin into the workflow

To use the plugin, it must be activated for one or more desired tasks in the workflow. This is done as shown in the following screenshot by selecting the plugin intranda_step_deleteContent from the list of installed plugins.

Assigning the plugin to a specific task

Since this plugin is usually to be executed automatically, the step in the workflow should be configured as automatic.

How the plugin works

Once the plugin is fully installed and set up, it is usually executed automatically within the workflow, so there is no manual interaction with the user. Instead, the workflow calls the plugin in the background and starts the deletion of the configured data. In doing so, the configured folders and data are deleted, if they exist. Data that does not exist will be skipped. If it has been configured that the process is to be deactivated, all workflow steps are run through and checked whether they have already been closed regularly within the workflow. If this is not the case, the steps are deactivated.

When the deletion is complete, a message is added to the process log to inform you that this plugin has been called and the data was deleted.